It’s Noisy Out There!

Proverbs 3: (MSG)
6  Listen for GOD’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.

Life was much simpler growing up for me.  There wasn’t many distractions like there are in this twenty first century.  Maybe, just maybe, my parents and grandparents thought life was complicated.  Yet there were only three major television networks to choose from, and yes, PBS.  So programs were more geared towards the whole family watching as one unit.

Computers were that of science fiction.  I began hearing about computer programming in my high school years and it required something most students today would know little about.  It was called a “punch card”.  Computers then could and most did take up a whole city block.  A computer in your home was still far years in my future.  So there was no creation of social media, live streaming and more websites than one could dream of.

I remember when it was announced that there would be a twenty four hour, seven day a week news channel.  That was the birth of what we now know as CNN.  Critics laughed at the idea for they believed there was enough content to fill that much air time.

Wars were something that happened in a far off land and only came into the home via the supper news broadcast.  Images were days old of the Vietnam war before they ever reached the shores of North America.  Now along comes President George H. W. Bush and the gulf war.  Now those battles were broadcasted live through yes, the network which people scoffed at, CNN.

The invention of the satellite became the tool of instant news, music and the advent of around the clock opinion talk shows.  Those radio shows were so successful that people began to take them and create them for the television audience.  The Oprah Winfrey Show was born.  That show changed how North America spent its afternoons.

Soon there would come what some called “shock jocks”.  Shows that pitted people against each other, chair fights, people spilling their dirty little secrets.

The idea of the show where the family could all watch was now a dusty relic in some studio warehouse.  Only shown are late nights in syndication.  Now it was evening entertainment that included murder, mayhem and marital affairs.

Yes, the world became smaller and also became even noisier.

Quiet time was much harder to find.  Mention the term ‘quiet time’ and the children connect it to punishment for unwanted behaviour.

Gone were the days like when my mother had everyone sitting at the dining table for supper every night at the same time.  Where friends knew not to call, and if the phone did ring it was not allowed to be answered.

Also, were the days where parents met and knew the friends of their children including their home phone numbers and addresses.

Then came email.  Advertising would no longer be the same.  Now companies were fighting for your time not only between television and radio shows they were fighting for your attention in what we like to call “spam mail”.

Yes, everywhere you turn someone is wanting a portion of your waking hours.

Have you attended your local church lately?  Even it is competing for your time and attention.  I was shocked one morning when I tuned in a church program and found that it resembled more of a night club than the Sunday Morning service when I was growing up.  It is now the popular thing to be deemed a “mega church”.  No longer are the days of basically knowing everyone in your local congregation and where a visitor is greeted by all those attending.  I would imagine that in our world today it would be hard to get to really know anyone in those large meetings.  Do they even have a mid-week prayer service?  My guess would be that it is doubtful.  From my understanding there is no longer a Sunday Night evangelistic type service.

Yes, my world and yours has become a lot more noisier.

Schedules are so full but yet it feels like accomplishments are few.  I am amazed by my daughter and how she is ever so busy trying to fit in all the activities that my grand children are involved in. Then also, she runs a credited day care out of her home.

I wonder today how many have time to sit in quiet without outside distractions to open their Bible for devotions in the morning and a time of study during the evening.  With all of the voices that seem to invade our twenty four hour day, how does a family find time for family prayer and Bible reading?

I find myself having to block out my television, make myself find time to study the Scripture.  To find time to find daily things that I am grateful for, even if they seem little to others around me.  It is so easy to get caught up in others drama to block those noises and just fill myself with that which God wants in my life.

Is your world full of useless noises that rob you of precious time with God, family, church and friends?  Maybe, you live your life in one hundred and forty characters.  Posting the silliest of things that in the grand scheme of things really do not matter.

This past year of 2016 has been one of those years that was a total barrage of voices and noises.  Every channel blasting their opinion about presidential candidates.  I even found myself caught up in this whirlwind of the presidential election in the United States.

I have had to go back to my roots, take back my time and energy for what really matters in my life.  God first, family second, then friends and strangers.

I urge the reader today, rethink your time and energy.  Go back, shut out the voices of the television, radio, and the social media and dust off that Bible, exercise your needs and refill your life with that which God would have for you.

Please read the following poem by:

C. T. Studd

Two little lines I heard one day,
Traveling along life’s busy way;
Bringing conviction to my heart,
And from my mind would not depart;
Only one life, twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one,
Soon will its fleeting hours be done;
Then, in ‘that day’ my Lord to meet,
And stand before His Judgement seat;
Only one life,’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, the still small voice,
Gently pleads for a better choice
Bidding me selfish aims to leave,
And to God’s holy will to cleave;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, a few brief years,
Each with its burdens, hopes, and fears;
Each with its clays I must fulfill,
living for self or in His will;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

When this bright world would tempt me sore,
When Satan would a victory score;
When self would seek to have its way,
Then help me Lord with joy to say;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Give me Father, a purpose deep,
In joy or sorrow Thy word to keep;
Faithful and true what e’er the strife,
Pleasing Thee in my daily life;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Oh let my love with fervor burn,
And from the world now let me turn;
Living for Thee, and Thee alone,
Bringing Thee pleasure on Thy throne;
Only one life, “twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one,
Now let me say,”Thy will be done”;
And when at last I’ll hear the call,
I know I’ll say “twas worth it all”;
Only one life,’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last. ”

— extra stanza —

Only one life, ’twill soon be past,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.
And when I am dying, how happy I’ll be,
If the lamp of my life has been burned out for Thee

I learned this when I was young.  Make it your prayer today!

 


About Rethinking Scripture

I am a musician by rights. I use to travel Canada and the United States playing gospel music in lots of different churches. Write me if you have Biblical questions. I would be more than pleased to answer them on my blog. It would help me find things to write about. Interests readingScripturesGospel musicmusician piano & gospel organlots of homebody hobbies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

