The Brush by Chuck Millhuff

I first heard this song when I was a teenager.

The Brush

Life started out like a canvas,
And God started painting on me,
But I took the paintbrush from Jesus,
And painted what I wished to see.

The colours I painted kept running,
And the objects were all out of size,
I had made a mess of my painting,
My way now seemed so unwise.

Then I gave my painting to Jesus,
All the colours, all the pieces so wrong.
In the markets of earth it was worthless,
But His blood made my painting belong.

He worked with no condemnation,
(Tag) Never mentioned the mess I had made.
Then He dipped His brush in the rainbow,
And signed it, the price has been paid.

When I gave the brush back to Jesus,
When I gave the brush back to Him
He started all over life’s canvas to fill,
When I gave to Jesus the brush of my will.
(From Tag Once Again)

also on Youtube at:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O5v8AWg3vDM

About Rethinking Scripture

I am a musician by rights. I use to travel Canada and the United States playing gospel music in lots of different churches. Write me if you have Biblical questions. I would be more than pleased to answer them on my blog. It would help me find things to write about. Interests readingScripturesGospel musicmusician piano & gospel organlots of homebody hobbies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

