I Hate Confusion!

1Co 14:33 MSG  When we worship the right way, God doesn’t stir us up into confusion; he brings us into harmony. This goes for all the churches—no exceptions.

 

God Confuses the Enemy

Read 2 Chronicles 20

In the KJV the above verse declares ‘God is not the author of confusion…’.  This is true, yet, God has used confusion as a tool to see His’ will fulfilled.  The first time he used confusion was at the tower of Babel. The other example is found in the next portion of scripture I have mentioned in this article.

Israel had an enemy to face and not sure of how they could defeat them.  Jehoshaphat begins to pray to God asking for wisdom.  To make a long story short, God instructs the men of God to put together a choir.  To most military leaders this would seem like folly.  How do you fight an enemy using a choir?  Yet the leaders obey God and a choir is assembled. 

Just before this here is what God speaks to Jehoshaphat:

2Ch 20:17 MSG  You won’t have to lift a hand in this battle; just stand firm, Judah and Jerusalem, and watch GOD’s saving work for you take shape. Don’t be afraid, don’t waver. March out boldly tomorrow—GOD is with you.”

 

Well morning arrives and the men of God gathers the newly formed choir and instructs them to go ahead of Israel and begin to sing praises to God.

I can imagine the enemy hearing this choir must have thought that the leaders of Israel had lost their mind.  Yet, the enemy did not know what God had planned.

Not long after the choir begins to sing praises God allows confusion to come into the enemy camp.  They began to slay each other.  Just as God had promised the enemy was defeated and the army of Israel did not lift one sword or threw one spear.

I am somewhat a different type of person.  When I want to study the Scriptures I do it in the late evening when the phone is quiet and where I can turn off all other noises in my home.  Sometimes before starting to study I will sit at my organ and just play for a time.

When I was in high school there were nights I couldn’t sleep so I would go downstairs sit in front of my fish aquarium and read my Bible.  Remember, this was before cell phones, computers, and of course cable tv.

Sometimes I have found myself feeling uncomfortable within a group setting, except for when I was ministering in song or the Word.  I am much better with an one on one situation.

Some of my greatest meetings have been times where I would find my way to the piano and begin to minister.  Most times my back was towards the congregation.  I couldn’t see what was happening within the sanctuary, but when I would turn around after many minutes of ministering in song there would be people standing on their feet, tears flowing down their cheeks and just worshipping before God.  It was at those times where I never read a Biblical text or deliver any type of sermon, but would hear testimonies later on of how people were met by God and their spiritual needs fulfilled.

I have written in past articles that is is noisy out there.  If you really want to know God and His Son, Christ Jesus, you need to shut out the noise and confusion of the world you are living in.  This is when you will hear God’s voice in your innermost being.

1Ki 19:12 MSG  and after the earthquake fire, but GOD wasn’t in the fire; and after the fire a gentle and quiet whisper.

 

Everyone wants a thunderclap, a booming voice(noise), or through someone else having a word of wisdom.  The God I know, doesn’t usually speak in a wind storm but that very quiet still small voice.

I would encourage those who are reading this to find a time where you can shut out the confusion of the world and create a time of worship and study so that God can speak, and lead you.

About Rethinking Scripture

I am a musician by rights. I use to travel Canada and the United States playing gospel music in lots of different churches. Write me if you have Biblical questions. I would be more than pleased to answer them on my blog. It would help me find things to write about. Interests readingScripturesGospel musicmusician piano & gospel organlots of homebody hobbies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

