and They call me ‘Crazy’?

Rom 7: (MSG)
14  I can anticipate the response that is coming: “I know that all God’s commands are spiritual, but I’m not. Isn’t this also your experience?” Yes. I’m full of myself; after all, I’ve spent a long time in sin’s prison.
15  What I don’t understand about myself is that I decide one way, but then I act another, doing things I absolutely despise.

ATTENTION!

I am not a physician, psychiatrist, or any type of professional in the medical arena.

Please always seek help through your family doctor, counsellor, or some other medical professional.

I am writing this in regards to my own personal battle as a diagnosed bi-polar person.  I am on prescribed treatments for my mental health issue.

The epistle of Romans written by the Apostle Paul has one chapter which is under constant debate among theologians, and other in the religious theater.  That chapter is the one I have quoted from, Romans chapter seven.

The apostle writes about his own personal daily struggles as a battle between two forces. 

Here is how the King James Version writes:

Rom 7: (KJV)
14  For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.
15  For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.

This is a battle that mankind has fought since the day of it’s creation.  Good people find themselves wanting to do that which is right, but find themselves doing the opposite.  This battle will be with us from birth to death.

I can imagine that some would read the epistle written by Paul the Apostle and declare that he is suffering with mental health issue.  Maybe, suffering from the term called bi-polar, or it’s other name manic depressive.

I am not embarrassed to admit that I suffer with a mental health issue.  I was diagnosed as bi-polar just over a decade ago.  With proper treatment and proper oversight I now manage this issue with success.

I am speaking out because this issue has received too much negative press over the years because of mass shootings where the shooter is described as bi-polar.

Some of the religious right want to hide their heads in the sand when it comes to mental health.  I believe scriptures gives us guidelines about this.  Paul speaks that man is a tri being, body, soul, and spirit.  So,, when one part of our body is suffering it has influence over the other parts of our being.

I wish that more leaders in the pulpit would speak out on issues of mental health.  I do not consider myself weak in my acknowledgement of my battle with being bi-polar.  I now can battle this issue properly because I have knowledge from the medical professionals that give me care.

If you, the reader, feel you may have some mental health issues, I would implore to seek professional medical help immediately.  These issues can be treated with great success and you should not fear that you are weak, but are made strong with the influence of medical intervention.

Yes, I have even have had hospital stays while finding the correct path of treatment for me.  I now live a fuller life without the extreme swings in my moods.

No matter where you are at there is help and hope.  Also share your battle with your family and close friends.  You will be amazed how willing they are to also help you on the path of wholeness in body, soul, and spirit.

About Rethinking Scripture

I am a musician by rights. I use to travel Canada and the United States playing gospel music in lots of different churches. Write me if you have Biblical questions. I would be more than pleased to answer them on my blog. It would help me find things to write about. Interests readingScripturesGospel musicmusician piano & gospel organlots of homebody hobbies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

