Bullies Need Not Apply

John 10:10 MSG
A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of.

Eph 6: MSG
13  Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet.
14  Truth, righteousness,
15  peacio
16  faitio
17  and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon.
18  In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

Isa 26: MSG
3  People with their minds set on you, you keep completely whole, Steady on their feet, because they keep at it and don’t quit.

Several years ago I was hospitalized due to pneumonia and it was very serious.  During my stay I became septic, (infection in the blood stream).  I was in that condition the nurses told me for four days.  I do not remember any of those days.  Nurses said I was totally out in another world.  My comprehension totally eluded me.  I could be told something and within the next several minutes I would be asking again.  It was a constant struggle for the health care workers to keep me lucid.

At one point during those days, somehow I had managed to get out of the hospital bed.  I was on intravenous with anti-biotic and a catheter.  Well the nurses came in to check up on how I was faring and found me on the floor, blood all over the place and in a pool of urine.

Also during this time somehow I must have been watching some program on the t.v..  During this I managed to call my best friend and I said to him, ‘you need to come and get me and help me they are out to murder me’.  This wasn’t the real me but the poison running through my body.

I look back on the events of those four days and smile.  However, it gave me a glimpse of what it is like for a bully, Alzheimer’s to take over your mind.  The Alzheimer’s Organization states that Alzheimer’s is the sixth leading cause of death in the United States.

The Scriptures has a lot to say when it comes to our mind and how the enemy of our mind is constantly trying to bully his way in to steal our mind and to rob us of peace of mind.  It is the mind that controls all of our bodily functions.  Yes, the medical community can over ride the function of the mind and keep a body going, but there comes a time where it is in vain to continue.  The term they use is, ‘brain dead’, there is no sign of any mental activity and one by one the organs of the body begin to shut down.

In this twenty first century it is ever increasing a constant demand for our mind.  Constant bombardments of visual, audio, and other sensory intrusion.  Technology screams at us twenty-four/seven for our time.  It has become a thief to this generation for their peace of mind.

I grew up during the seventies.  My mom had a rule for dinner time.  We all sat down at once to eat, no television on, no phone calls in or out.  It was a time to shut out the world have a bit of peace from the demands of life.

This generation is a generation that leaves for the moment, instant gratification, constantly looking at some type of screen, wanting everything like going through the drive through of a fast food restaurant.

Our mind has no time to relax and think on those things that are above.

Philippians 4:8 MSG
8  Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious;the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.

Yes, the enemy of our soul has the perfect weapon to keep us from keeping our minds stayed on God.  You can live in a mansion, have the finest of apparel, all the money that one could use, but, if you do not have peace in your mind, you have nothing.

God promised us that He would keep us in perfect peace if our mind is stayed on Him.  David declared that he meditated on God day and night.  We are commanded to write His commandment on our heart.

I have been through times where my mind was in total chaos.  I had to take medications just to keep me on an even keel.  My mind constantly raced with no order in my thoughts.  Concentrating on one thing for any length of time escaped me.

I have come to a point now that there are days where I totally unplug from all the incoming waves of thoughts and ideas.  I replace all that tidal waves of bullies trying to rob me of my peace with some good gospel music, and most important, The Word of God.

I picture myself taking a sign and planting in my mind saying, “Bullies Need Not Apply”.

Maybe, you are struggling within your mind on the carousel of life.  Every nerve in your body screams out for just one minute of quiet, but, it is not to be found.  Your whole body feels like a bully has beat on you every inch to where there is not one part without pain.

I remind you of a great hymn:

  1. If the world from you withhold of its silver and its gold,
    And you have to get along with meager fare,
    Just remember, in His Word, how He feeds the little bird—
    Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there.
    • Refrain:
      Leave it there, leave it there,
      Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there;
      If you trust and never doubt, He will surely bring you out—
      Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there.
  2. If your body suffers pain and your health you can’t regain,
    And your soul is almost sinking in despair,
    Jesus knows the pain you feel, He can save and He can heal—
    Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there.
  3. When your enemies assail and your heart begins to fail,
    Don’t forget that God in Heaven answers prayer;
    He will make a way for you and will lead you safely through—
    Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there.

Yes fellow soldier of Christ, God truly wants all of our being to be at peace.  Absent from the bullies that are trying to steal.

Give all those burdens you are carrying over to God and leave them there!

On Facebook Like: Rethinking Scripture;

Twitter: @dmbourne

 

About Rethinking Scripture

I am a musician by rights. I use to travel Canada and the United States playing gospel music in lots of different churches. Write me if you have Biblical questions. I would be more than pleased to answer them on my blog. It would help me find things to write about. Interests readingScripturesGospel musicmusician piano & gospel organlots of homebody hobbies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

