,

Positive; Hard Work

photo-of-a-sign-and-eyeglasses-on-table-1485657

I’ve always believed that you can think positive just as well as you can think negative. James Baldwin
Read more at https://www.brainyquote.com/topics/positive-quotes

Staying positive in a negative world is truly a struggle.

It started Tuesday when I was waiting for a parcel to be delivered by a courier.  At 7 p.m., I receive an email that they couldn’t find the address.  It was like they were without GPS or a phone.  After a phone call to a call center located where unknown I was told that the next delivery is for today, Thursday.

There are those on a spectrum that espoused the theory of “Positive Thinking”.  Yes, they base it on a Scripture, but if the truth be known living in the real world of 2020 negativity rules.

I already lean towards being pessimistic, when I am sent for x-rays, or blood work I automatically start thinking the worse.  I cannot help myself it is just a habit that was developed when I was younger.

If you listen to the political party that is not government you would think that the world is coming to the end, an Armageddon.  That is the only time I will mention politics.  It is like that in most democratic societies, I live in Canada.

 Turn on any news channel and the airwaves are flooded with all things negative. Oh yes, once in awhile there may be one short news article that is positive.  For the ninety nine percent it is utterly negative.

So, I sit here fighting to think positive in a crappy negative world!  Staying positive is hard work!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Comments (

9

)

  1. cheriewhite

    Yes it is! I used to be a very negative person. There finally came a time that I had to change my mindset or I feared I’d never be happy. It was the hardest work I’d ever done because once you get used to certain patterns of thinking, your mind will literally FIGHT back any time you try a different way of thinking. But I kept it up until it got easier to think positively.

    And you’re so right about the news. From time to time, I have to step away for the TV news for a few days. Because it gets overwhelming.

    Thank you for posting this! It’s a fantastic post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rethinking Scripture

      Thank you Cherie!
      Also, thank you for reblogging my post. It is totally appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cheriewhite

        It’s my pleasure! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Positive; Hard Work — Rethinking Scripture | Chateau Cherie

    […] via Positive; Hard Work — Rethinking Scripture […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chelsea Owens

    I’m all about the negative. In thinking of it (constantly), however, I’ve decided I need a more ‘real’ way of thinking positively than …whatever saccharine-induced, ignoring-the-world way I’ve learned is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rethinking Scripture

      I know that my negativity turns people off. I don’t like myself when I am so negative.
      I am not mean with comments but my outlook stinks!
      It is something I have been working on for some time.
      It is all part of my Cognitive Behavior Therapy.
      I still have a lot of work to do Chelsea.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chelsea Owens

        You and me both!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Biggeneralblog

    Great post especially the part about news or politics for me.I always try and stay away or do not focus too much because it usually leads to people dividing and being negative.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Angie

    Staying positive is absolutely exhausting! I’m mentally drained at the end of most days. It’s worth it though when I think of how yucky I feel when I let all those negative thoughts in and allow it to take over my day. I try not to watch or listen to the news lol. There are still people and topics that bring out my nasty regardless of how hard I try to stay positive, but all we can do is keep trying and continue to move forward.

    Liked by 1 person